The Freak Show #155 – Trombone Appreciation!

 

adrey

So this show was basically designed to show everyone how much and why I love the trombone.  You can listen to the show to hear all about it.  I’ve included the link below so all you need to do is click on it and have a listen.  But I also wanted to tell you about the more personal side of it all.

3aa598c057c0faa278042012b23acb41

I love the trombone.  Not many people do and honestly, that’s a big part of why I find it so appealing.  At the start of high school, we were randomly allocated an instrument for band class.  I got given a trombone.  My first thought was “what the hell am I going to do with this thing?” but as time went on and I started learning all about it, I realised that this instrument was made for me.

Nobody wanted the trombone.  It was a curse to be avoided at all costs.  And initially, I felt that way too. I went home and bitched to my mum about being allocated the trombone and I was annoyed that I was going to have to lug this huge, heavy thing to and from school. Its funny how that’s become another big reason why I love it as much as I do.

trombone_quote_wall

I’m not particularly good at playing the trombone.  But when I do, I get lost.  I feel almost invisible and I really like that feeling where music is concerned.  That instrument is nearly as big as me so that means I can hide behind it.  It literally blocks my whole head and most of my upper body and all I’m there for, is to breathe life into it.  I’m not a person when I’m holding my trombone, I’m merely a life source for a far greater and more impressive object than my human form.  That’s not meant to sound angsty – it’s actually an amazing feeling.

It’s also so very loud.  That means I can’t really think.  It drowns out my thoughts and whatever else my brain tries to do and that’s also a good thing because there’s no distractions – just music. And seriously, another upside is definitely all the “boner” references.  Who doesn’t love a good “boner” joke?

8de712442fd64c8dd4a30c9d139f6760

I’ve made myself a pretty huge list of resolutions and goals for 2016 and one of them is to spend more time practising and trying to improve my trombone skills because it really is something that brings me happiness and satisfaction.  Let’s see how that goes!

So there you have it! Go and listen to the show x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

